28 – Atonement.

20160622_170310
The money shot – everything I have painted so far.

‘One day I’ll finish painting all of my armies’ I kept reassuring myself, alternating between guiltily staring at the row upon row of accusingly basecoated Games Workshop miniatures and even more guiltily at my shopping cart full of new models to heap on the pile of Halfords matt white primered shame. After my love affair with 40k ended in a difficult divorce I shipped my miniature offspring off to be someone else’s problem, investing the gains into a new relationship with Operation Icestorm and a Haqqislam starter set, promising myself that, this time, it would be different. This time I would achieve the Holy Grail, a fully painted army to grace the tabletop, distracting opponents from my complete lack of tactical nous and rules knowledge while allowing me to feel superior in defeat. After all, Infinity was a skirmish game, with a low model count, right? Pleased with myself on paper I piously vowed that I would only add to my collection once everything I already owned had received a paintjob. What could possibly go wrong?

Turns out, a lot. After an initial period of abstinence where I restrained from indulging in my hobby addiction, distracting myself by painting my copy of Icestorm, the temptation of the  beautiful models proved too much and I launched into an Infinity spending spree that Colleen Rooney would have found gauche, falling off the plastic crack wagon and overdosing on metal models, the bender ending with an empty bank account and boxes of unpainted and often unassembled models.

Redemption could only come from honouring the promise I had made to myself, so, shown the way by Steve at Enfield Gamers, who had proudly posted a pic of his fully painted Nomad force on his awesome blog,  I picked up a brush, dipped it into some Abbadon Black, and started painting. I’m no Angel, but they’re done, they don’t look bad from a distance, and I finally have a fully painted [Qapu Khalqi] army! Just a shame I bought another one; ah well, “all have sinned and fallen short”, as they say.

 

20160622_170341
My name’s Toby, and I’m a TAGaholic.

 

20160622_170426
Never use them, but I don’t care – they’re so beautiful…

 

20160622_170428_001
Feuerbach or HMG? It’s a question we all have to ask ourselves.

 

20160622_170445
Collecting the morning’s eggs.

 

20160622_170454
Baggage. Useful, but boring, due to lack of HMGs/missiles.

 

20160622_170510
Ghulams…

 

20160622_170531
Doctor Plus and Nasmats, who have probably chalked up more deaths between them than Harold Shipman.

 

20160622_170550
Who says the new sculpts are better? Probably everyone, actually.

 

20160622_170607
Sekbans; beautiful models, HRL is a beast, take them whenever I can justify it.

 

20160622_170808
Snipers and sneaker.

 

20160622_170635
Mercs – decided to paint the female Alguacile with her boobs out for added win.

 

 

20160622_170832
Starting on my second army, NCA, these Bolts are fresh of the production line. My NCA will be treated to lovely resin bases from Antenocitis [once it stops raining and I can actually basecoat them].

 

20160622_170857
Ladies who launch.

 

20160622_170921
Let’s go that way!

 

20160622_170956
Everyone remembers their first…

 

20160622_171020
Fusiliers. Yep.

 

20160622_171046
The big hitters.

 

So there you have it, let me know what you think. Hopefully I can keep the ball rolling and get my Neoterrans painted up lickety-split. “I must not buy the Onyx Contact Force, I must not buy…”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: redheadhobbies

I've been a fan of the 40k universe since I was a 10 year old kid playing with my brother's RTB01 beaky marines painted as Rainbow Warriors. After ending my love affair with 40k due to shitness and dropping out of the hobby for a little while, I have now been reinvigorated by the awesomeness that is Infinity.

3 thoughts on “28 – Atonement.”

  1. I think that regardless how they look you got a fully painted army! Of course that implies they look terrible, and they certainly don’t! They look good somatically, the models pop a lot, and you should be proud to field that Force 🙂 furthermore, the bases at a lot tomorrow! If you get those bolts based, they look even better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

