6 – The gaming garage

15572

Something I’ve dreamed of having for years is a gaming room. First and foremost to increase the frequency of games I was playing, as finding a cat free space for my mate Tom [who has possibly every allergy up for grabs, including being allergic to wood – Edit, Tom has informed me he isn’t allergic to wood, just cats, and nuts] was becoming problematic, and we were only meeting about once a month, if we were lucky. Also though a social area, somewhere to have a few stupidly strong IPAs and unashamedly geek out to all things wargaming while gazing at posters of dwarves, space men and scantily clad pointy-eared women. Finally, a place for me to create the perfect gaming board, with well painted and interesting terrain that just begged to be played on, something that would bring the pretend games to life. I did manage to squeeze 3 other friends into my 1 bed basement flat a couple of times by moving all of the furniture to the corners of the room and setting up a trestle table slap-bang in the middle. However, it was clear this wasn’t a long term solution, as it really pissed off both the cats and the wife, and everything had to be packed away at the end.

Recently Melissa and I decided that it was finally time to move out of the flat and to a house. Her motivation was to have enough room for a nursery for a potential baby, my motivation was so I could have a gaming room. While I would have been happy with laying a couple of pieces of 2 by 6 MDF across the top of the baby’s cot to turn it into a ‘multi-purpose space’, I’m sure the missus wouldn’t have been impressed, and a battle for possession of the spare room no-man’s-land loomed.

Fortunately, after viewing a couple of non-starters, we hit the jackpot. Just as we were leaving a rather small but promising little two bed we were 50:50 on, the estate agent casually mentioned that one of the garages opposite was for our use. 20 minutes later and I had put down the holding deposit.

On move in day I was mostly anxious about the garage. While reluctantly lugging bits of furniture about, doubts crept through my mind. Would it be full of rubbish? Would it have lights and electricity? Was I finally going to get my gaming room?

Happy days.

garage

Edit – table is still very much a work in progress. I’ll get there 🙂

Author: redheadhobbies

I've been a fan of the 40k universe since I was a 10 year old kid playing with my brother's RTB01 beaky marines painted as Rainbow Warriors. After ending my love affair with 40k due to shitness and dropping out of the hobby for a little while, I have now been reinvigorated by the awesomeness that is Infinity.

1 thought on “6 – The gaming garage”

Leave a Reply

